Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Maybe one day I’ll learn to not read books that will cause me this much emotional pain.

Five hundred years ago, war raged across the land between humans and faeries. A Treaty was signed which would ensure that humans and faeries would forever be separated by a wall lest they ever try to battle each other again. Feyre, a young human girl who hunts game for her family’s survival, kills a faerie in the form of a wolf and is later met by another beast. He offers her a choice: either he will kill her for taking the life of his friend or come with him and spend the rest of her life in Prythian, the faerie realm. When she arrives at the Spring Court she enters a world where she is hunted by faeries and protected by the High Lord of Spring. She must face down a powerful Fae queen and conquer her own fears as well.

ALL HAIL THE QUEEN! ALL HAIL THE QUEEN! ALL HAIL THE QUEEN!

Of course, the queen is Sarah J. Maas. The way she creates these worlds is just incredible. You can tell how much hard work has gone into ironing out every detail, every law, every last tendril of magic.

At the start I loved Tamlin and Lucien. They had a great dynamic between them and were really great to Feyre, especially with Lucien’s sass. But Under the Mountain Lucien was alright, he helped Feyre when she needed it and was generally still great, but Tamlin was completely useless. He didn’t do anything to help her because it was too risky for him when she was out there risking her life every single day to try and free him and his court.

Rhysand, on the other hand, was incredible. A massive jerk, but a good jerk. He actually helped Feyre get through the trials and let her help him. Plus, he’s hot af.

I love the fact that there is a really fleshed-out villain and you can almost understand where she’s coming from, even if she goes waaayyyy over the top with her court/cult under the mountain. She was a massive four-letter word and I loved it, all of it.

Seriously, this book is amazing! And I loved every single moment of it. I think that this will become one of my most recommended books. because I just love talking about it so much.

What do I rate it? 10/10. 100% I love it so much.

What was my favourite moment? It’s so hard to pick one, but I have to say the first trial Under the Mountain or caranmai.

Who is my favourite character? Either Lucien or Rhysand.

Would I read it again? YES!!!!

 


 

Read my last post.

 

Follow me on Instagram: @zena.anne

Or Tumblr: arrayofeverything

Leave a Reply

