Review: Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls #2)

Okay, yeah, I’m pretty much in love with this series.

The fever saved Sam, but Jack wasn’t so lucky. Sam and Grace have been able to enjoy their winter together without the worries of turning because of the cold. But other dangers await outside of Boundary Wood, not all of which will be as forgiving as the winter. 

I wish I could say I loved this book as much as I loved the first one but I just can’t. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still a great book, but Shiver set the bar so high that almost anything would have been a let-down anyway. It doesn’t mean I didn’t love the book or that I don’t love the series, it just wasn’t quite as good. 

There are a couple of new characters in this book, most notably Cole and Victor, who are new wolves recruited by Beck to take care of the pack once he no longer can. Cole is rude and awful and we don’t really see much of Victor but he remains a large part of Cole’s story. I had a hard time relating to Cole and couldn’t really manage to sympathise with him much because to me he was just a drugged up rockstar who spent most of his time feeling sorry for himself. That isn’t to say that his character wasn’t pretty awesome. A character doesn’t have to be a good person to be a good character.

The whole ‘what’s going on with Grace?’ aspect is really good as well because you have an idea of what’s going on with her (I just thought she was going to shift) but it turns out to be just a little bit different. The idea of not shifting being the thing that kills the wolves rather than just age causes just a little bit more stress and it’s great. It means that the characters have to rethink everything they know about being  wolf. Grace nearly dying was pretty fun as well.

What do I rate it? 8/10

Would I read it again? Yeah, I think so.

Who is my favourite character? Still Isabel.

What was my favourite moment? When they were figuring out how to save Grace.

 


 

Read my last post.

 

Follow me on Instagram: @zena.anne

Or Tumblr: arrayofeverything

 

Enjoy xx

3 thoughts on “Review: Linger (Wolves of Mercy Falls #2)

Leave a Reply

