Review: The Mortal Instruments.

**spoiler alert**

Okay, this one has been a long time coming. I said that I would read this a long time ago. So, naturally it took me four years to do so. But, boy, am I glad I did? This is one of those series’ where you just kinda go “WOW”. It’s seriously awesome and there’s action and drama and romance and evil people who try to take over the world. It’s the complete package.

I was lucky enough to go to a writing festival last year that Cassandra Clare was attending and doing a presentation with Holly Black. This would have been great had I actually read any of either of their books at this point, however, after meeting her I decided that it was definitely time to read The Mortal Instruments. I was not disappointed.

The series is set in modern-day New York and follows Clary Fray, an apparently ordinary human girl, who is thrust into a world of angels, demons, vampires, werewolves, warlocks and faeries. She finds out that she belongs to an ancient race of half-human, half-angel warriors called Shadowhunters. She is pulled into the struggles and intrigues of the Shadowhunter world, falling in love with Jace Wayland who turns out to be *gasp* her brother. Then he turns out to be a Morgenstern/Herondale/Lightwood. Yeah, confusing, I know.

I am in love with the way that Cassie creates this world of inhuman wonders. All of her characters are crafted so well and there is magic on every page.

Who is my favourite character? Magnus Bane – he is sassy and he has very good taste in men (though perhaps not women *cough* Camille *cough*)

Who is my OTP? Malec – the sexiest characters of all.

What was my favourite scene? The one where Jace and Simon go shopping and the girls ask if they can touch Jace’s mango, hilarious.

Which is my favourite book? Either City of Glass or City of Heavenly Fire – mostly because of their epic Malec moments. The kiss in Alicante and Alec just being completely done with straight people were just brilliant.

Would I read it again? Yes, definitely. I will read it again very soon, I’m sure.

What do I rate it? Overall: 9.5/10 it’s pretty awesome.

 


 

Read my last post.

 

My Links:

Instagram: @zena.anne

Tumblr: arrayofeverything.tumblr.com

Twitter: @_MissZee_

One thought on “Review: The Mortal Instruments.

Leave a Reply

